top of page

EA$Y MONEY RECAP: Betting on Rio Update

My internship ended a week and a half ago, and school doesn't start for another week. I've had some time on my hands, and to stay entertained, I've spent that time betting. I've stayed away from baseball, as watching three hour games in the dog days of August has absolutely no appeal to me. I also can't watch or bet on some of these obscure Olympic sports I have absolutely no idea about (i.e. Martial Arts, Handball and "Boating"). So I've decided to spend the week betting on Men's Olympic basketball, starting the "Betting on Rio" series that has dominated the BOG feed over the past month. Thus far, I have made 18 bets:

AUGUST 7TH

Spain (-340) v. Croatia XXXX

Argentina (-600) v. Nigeria $$$$$

AUGUST 8TH

Australia (+170) v. Serbia $$$$$

U.S.A. (over 107.5) v. Venezuela $$$$$

France (under 85.5) v. China XXXX

AUGUST 9TH

Lithuania v. Nigeria (under 154.5) XXXX

Argentina (-135) v. Croatia $$$$$

AUGUST 10TH

Australia (+28) v. U.S.A. $$$$$

China (+6.5) v. Venezuela $$$$$

AUGUST 13TH

Argentina (-2) v. Brazil $$$$$

Lithuania (+3.5) v. Spain XXXX

Nigeria (+10.5) v. Croatia $$$$$

AUGUST 14TH

U.S.A. (-20) v. France XXXX

U.S.A. (over 100.5) v. France XXXX

Australia (-20.5) v. Australia $$$$$

August 15TH

Brazil (-600) v. Nigeria $$$$$

Argentina (+9.5) v. Spain XXXX

Lithuania (-140) v. Croatia XXXX

OVERALL RECORD: 10-8

Overall, I went 10-8. Not bad as I came out about even. I think following the tournament as closely as I have is an added bonus, as I've developed a feel for the strengths and weaknesses of each team that should help me with make strong picks in the

playoff rounds.

The quarterfinal round opens with Australia and Lithuania facing off at 9:00 AM CT.


bottom of page