top of page

Rays at A's Under 8


Sure I'm a little biased because seemingly every Rays game I watch turns out to be a waste of my time aside from a few displays of excellence from Evan Longoria (who they're considering trading at the deadline), but I just don't see them being able to break open Sonny Gray (4-8, 5.12 ERA) if he's able to command his pitches better than he had been earlier in the season. He's a top end starter that I believe will have a strong 2nd half to the season, so look for him to build off his 1-0 post All-Star Weekend start. On top of that, it turns out I'm not just biased and the Rays actually do have the 5th least runs scored all season. Moving to the other rubber, Matt Moore (5-7, 4.33 ERA) should extend his streak of 4 straight quality starts as he faces another team in the bottom third of the league in runs scored. Moore has not allowed more than 2 runs in a start in nearly a month and he'll try to replicate that success against a team that has had very little exposure to the lefty. What's most impressive about that stat is that two of those starts have been against the top offense in baseball, the Boston Red Sox. I'm also tempted to take the A's at -135 but I'll sit on that until tomorrow morning.


bottom of page