top of page

Tiger Woods--Out of the PGA Championship


"Tiger Woods withdraws from the PGA Championship and isn't sure if he will play at all in 2016" - Sportscenter

It’s over. All of the great memories that Tiger’s given to golf fans over the years have come to an end. His spine is an accordion and his knees are decrepit. When he held the showcase back in early spring, I still had hope that he may come back and maybe catch Jack Nicklaus' major record. But when I witnessed his showcase, I almost didn’t recognize him. He wasn’t just bad, he was embarrassingly horrible in front of all the reporters that had come out to get a look at the “new and improved Tiger Woods”. He couldn’t even get himself to hit a ball 100 yards over the water, on three attempts.

After years of grinding, Tiger just ran his body into the ground. Just watch his swing in 2000 versus in 2013. You can just tell that his back wore down from all of the torque he would put on the ball early on in his playing career.

I think it’s officially time, if it wasn’t time already, to start remembering Tiger as the player that never was. He never had what could have easily been the best golfing career of all time. He was on pace to destroy Jack’s majors record (18) as well as Sam Snead’s PGA tour wins (82). Tiger needs to give up on a return to the Tour. I don’t want to remember Tiger like this. I want to remember him as the best golfer of our generation. The guy that made other players crumble, just by being in his presence. The guy who would actually make you want to watch golf on Sundays. The guy that transcended an all-white, country club sport. The guy that added some much needed emotion and vigor to an otherwise mundane game. I refuse to watch as Tiger misses cuts and accepts himself as an average PGA Tour golfer.

In honor of an unreal career, here are some of Tiger’s all time moments…

…I really hope I’m wrong, but I know I’m not. And I'm finally comfortable saying that with all the great players on the Tour nowadays. But there will never be another Tiger Woods.

Last thing, this needs to be on its own because of how ridiculous it was and somehow wasn't in the Top 10 video

Goosebumps


bottom of page